Community

Career Pathways Panel Discussions

Authors: Lauren Michael, Christina Koch, Erin Becker BLOG

The Carpentries are excited to announce an upcoming series of panel discussions designed to help our community members become informed about the variety of career paths available to computationally literate members of their fields. Panel discussions will be held virtually in the months of January, February and March (tentative dates, below) with each session featuring 3-4 senior community members in Carpentry-related professions, including: tenured faculty, communicators/consultants, research software engineers, industry scientists, etc.

Panelists will discuss how their career path led them to their current positions, including obstacles or challenges they may have faced and how they overcame those barriers. Audience members will have the opportunity to submit questions for panelists, and time will be reserved for free-form Q&A.

To insure that all attendees have the opportunity to participate, attendance will be limited to 20 participants who have attended a debriefing within the last 3 months. To attend, please add your information to this form.

We are currently in the process of recruiting panelists and would love to have recommendations from the community! If you know of someone who would be a good panelist, please recommend them here by Monday, January 9.

Anyone with questions can send an email to Lauren Michael (organizer) at lauren1.michael-at-gmail-dot-com.

Tentative Dates
Tuesday, Jan 24 - 7am PST / 10am EST / 3pm UTC / 2am AEST (next day)
Wednesday, Feb 22 - 3pm PST / 6pm EST / 11pm UTC / 10am AEST (next day)
Tuesday, Mar 21 - 3pm PST / 6pm EST / 11pm UTC / 9am AEST (next day)

« Previous Next »

Dialogue & Discussion